Clan Mackenzie and Seaforth Project
The project seeks to research, document and highlight this important period in the area’s history and use the information to create a unique visitor attraction, in an area that is rurally isolated. According to local tradition and written records, it was in 1610 that the Clan Mackenzie based themselves at Seaforth Head after they took ownership of the Isle of Lewis from Clan Macleod.
The Clan’s link to the area is seen in their use of the title Earls of Seaforth and the Seaforth Highlander Regiment which they founded. The Clan was based in the area for eighty years before relocating to Stornoway.
- To explore the site at Seaforth Head and to provide interpretation for visitors at the site and at the Community Hub.
- To understand the archaeology of the Seaforth area and to interpret what it tells us about the way of life in those days.
- To involve people locally.
- To develop links with the world-wide network of Clan Mackenzie Societies.
- To use this information ultimately to help conserve the landscape, for future generations to understand and enjoy.
The long-term aim of the project is to safeguard the information and landscape for future generations.
The videos above provide an account of the part the Mackenzie family played in the history of the Island of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides of Scotland, from the early 17th century to the mid-19th century.